Return to School Information

September 8, 2021

Dear Mt. Pleasant Public Schools Parent/Guardian,

Last evening, at the Mt Pleasant Public Schools’ Board of Education meeting, our board voted to put a universal masking requirement in place. This means that effective tomorrow, Thursday September 9, 2021, masks are mandatory for all students, staff and visitors while inside any MPPS building. This mandate is based on an increase in student and staff cases in our schools and in Isabella County. If your child does not have a mask, one will be provided to them.

Included with this email is the “MPPS Mask Protocol” chart. This chart will be used moving forward to determine when it is safe to begin unmasking our students and staff. District data will be reviewed each week and reported to our community on Friday afternoons. This report will include masking information for the next week.

Through all of these challenging times, we continue to work closely with the Central Michigan District Health Department regarding all of our COVID-19 situations in our schools. As we did last year, we will send letters to our school community to keep everyone informed of COVID-19 positive students or staff members.

Since last reported to you yesterday, we have learned of and investigated the following COVID-19 positive cases among our school communities:

 One student at Pullen Elementary.

 One student at Fancher Elementary.

 Ten students and one staff member at Mt Pleasant Middle School.

We are working closely with Central Michigan District Health Department to respond to this news, protect the health of our community and maintain education opportunities for the affected individuals. You will be contacted directly with further instructions on quarantine if your child is found to be a close contact.

Each situation calls for different protocols. With all of our cases, we will follow the direction of CMDHD as we implement our plan of action. We are closely monitoring the impact that each case has on our students and staff.

As cases are on the rise in our community, we continue to need your help to track our COVID-19 cases. Please contact our MPPS COVID Team via email if you have any questions regarding the appropriate response to a potential exposure. The MPPS COVID Team can be reached at (989) 775-2301 or at the following email addresses:

Tammy Carrier (tcarrier@mp.edzone.net)

Heather Prewo (hprewo@mp.edzone.net)

Superintendent Jennifer Verleger jverleger@mp.edzone.net

Assistant Superintendent Linda Boyd lboyd@mp.edzone.net

What if I have been around someone who was identified as a close contact? If you have been around someone who was identified as a close contact to a person with COVID-19, closely monitor yourself for any symptoms of COVID-19. You do not need to self-quarantine unless you develop symptoms or if the person identified as a close contact develops COVID-19.

Again, this is a friendly reminder that the virus that causes COVID-19 is thought to spread mainly through respiratory droplets produced when an infected person coughs, sneezes or talks. Spread is more likely when people are in close contact with one another (within 6 feet for at least 15 minutes). The symptoms of COVID-19 include: fever, cough, shortness of breath, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, runny nose or stuffy nose, loss of taste or smell and abdominal pain.

More information can also be found at www.cmdhd.org/coronavirus. If at any time you have questions or concerns regarding your child’s health, you can contact CMDHD at (989) 773-5921 or your child’s primary care provider.

The best way to prevent the spread of COVID-19 is through vaccinations for those who are eligible, wearing face coverings, physical distancing and to practice good health hygiene habits. Be sure to wash your hands frequently with soap and water, cover your coughs and sneezes, and avoid contact with people who have signs of illness. Get plenty of rest, exercise, and eat healthy food.

We will keep you updated with any new information as it comes out, while meeting the requirements to honor everyone’s right to privacy. More information can also be found at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov.

We continue to be grateful for your partnership. Please know that moving forward, we will continue to work closely with the Central Michigan District Health Department. If they send us any updated information, we will share it with all of you right away. Thank you for your support!

Take good care and be well,

Jennifer Verleger Superintendent

MPPS COVID-19 Protocols 2021-2022 9-8-21 (pdf)

MPPS COVID-19 Protocols 2021-2022 8-9-21 (pdf)

Mask Protocols

Proposed Mask Protocols for the Week of 9-20-21 (pdf)

Proposed Mask Protocols for the Week of 9-13-21 (pdf)

Proposed Mask Protocols for the Week of 9-7-21 (pdf)

Current 2021-2022 COVID-19 Data

MPPS COVID Cases 9-20-21 (pdf)

MPPS COVID  Cases 9-16-21 (pdf)

MPPS COVID Cases 9-14-21 (pdf)

MPPS COVID Cases 9-10-21 (pdf)

MPPS COVD Cases 9-8-21 (pdf)

MPPS COVID Cases 9-7-21 (pdf)

MPPS COVID Cases 9-2-21 (pdf)

MPPS COVID Cases 8-31-21 (pdf)

MPPS COVID Cases 8-29-21 (pdf)

 

Resources

MPPS Refrigerator Reminders (pdf)

MPPS Virtual Learning Options 2021-2022 (pdf)

Central Michigan District Health Department (Link)

Archived 2020-2021

Click here for Archived 2020-2021 COVID-19 Data and Reporting

MPPS Building Contacts

Individual building plans will continue to be reviewed and refined by administrators, principals, teachers, and essential staff members. For specific information or concerns related to your child’s plan for returning to school this Fall, in person, or as a part of Oilers Online, please contact your child’s principal.

Ganiard (DK-2), Marcy Stout (Principal) mstout@mp.edzone.net

Vowles (DK-2), Kim Bishop (Principal) kbishop@mp.edzone.net

Pullen (DK-2), Diane Falsetta (Principal) dfalsetta@mp.edzone.net

Fancher (3-5), Katie Rinke (Principal) krinke@mp.edzone.net

McGuire (3-5), Erin King (Principal) eking@mp.edzone.net

Middle School (6-8), Darby Weaver (Principal) dweaver@mp.edzone.net

Middle School (6-8), Matt Walderzak (Asst. Principal) mwalderzak@mp.edzone.net

High School (9-12), John Winkler (Principal) jwinkler@mp.edzone.net

High School (9-12), Jeff Platte (Asst. Principal) jplatte@mp.edzone.net

Mt Pleasant Community Education, Kimberly Funnell (Director) kfunnell@mp.edzone.net.

GI-TEC (9-12), Mary Kay Voeks (Principal) mvoeks@mp.edzone.net